top of page

ZUMBA TONING

The following Zumba routines each incorporate various types of body toning movements in order to further engage the muscles, then combined with a high-intensity cardio/dance workout to complete the full routine. I touch on areas such as the biceps, triceps, hamstrings, calves, hamstrings, glutes, the whole shablam... I really wanted to use each part of my body at least once within the routines. Below each video I'll explain a tad bit more about the specific toning moves I used and how they help that part of the body.


WARM UP

A warm up routine is created to engage all parts of the body in order to prepare them for the meaty part of overall workout routine or class you're participating. With that being said, I wanted to use every part of my body and engage all muscle groups.

For example, there's an arm segment where by simple repetition I got the entire class to work their triceps, biceps, shoulders, and even forearms. Easy movements can have a huge impact in the long run so take your time and really make sure you can feel the muscles being used. Believe me you can tell the different...especially the next day when you're feeling all the soreness. Also, in many of my Zumba routines I enjoy incorporating booty and leg exercises. They're also a big favorite among the students so it's practically a no brainier!


Song: Options (James Hype Remix) - Warm Up, Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley ZIN Volume 69


ZUMBA TONING ROUTINES

For this portion of the post, I have comprised a total of four different Zumba songs/routines all of which include some type of toning exercise. Targeting different parts of the body for a complete total body workout...cardio included!!! Now, of course I would absolutely recommend substituting these types of exercises with weight lifting and other stretch-type fitness styles (i.e. Yoga, Pilates, Meditation...), all of which when combined together can help you get to that dream body. Call me old fashioned, but there's just something about hard work and earning your rewards that make them so much more special. I earned my body, I worked hard...tried things I never thought I could even do, but not only have I surprised myself with the potential my body really has; I've also pushed myself past near impossible (or so I thought) boundaries. - Like did I ever imagined I'd be able to bench 130 lbs...absolutely not, but I can and with even more work, practice, and dedication I'll surpass that and move on to new challenges.


To call out some of the toning exercises in the above routines (just going to share in general terms) we have core focused movements, booty and leg exercises, more arm repetition, and even some chest/shoulder action. There's a move where we have our hands on our shoulders and we're squeezing our arms in and out...this move works the chest and can even help with building more cleavage (if that's what you're looking to do). I also take time to tune in to the calf muscles for a simple break down portion, which allows the students to truly focus on that muscle group alone. I added minimal arm movements to aid in balance, but nothing more in order to keep attention on that area. One final section I wanted to call out was during the Tango routine. The leg flicks are surprisingly a great workout!! Dealing with balance, core, and of course legs, plus they're just super fun.


Songs: Manual de Trucos - Merengue Urbano, Daddy Yanakee ZIN Volume 69

Green Light - Dancehall, Shaggy feat. Amber Lee ZIN Volume 69

Lo Que Tienes Tu - Cumbia Villera / Tango, Max Pizzolante ZIN Volume 69

Baila Conmigo - Moomba Trap, Zumba (Cover) ZIN Volume 69


*All of my songs are from the zumba.com website and were purchased under my ZIN membership. No copyright infringement intended.*


The more and more I teach Zumba classes, I love them much deeper and the passion for this fitness style grows. I have loved infusing my dance background with how I structure my classes as well as developing my own personal teaching style. I'm constantly growing and I really wouldn't have it any other way!


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page