top of page

MOVE YOUR BODY

Dance is a part of my soul, there is no question about that and I use it to inspire me within my everyday life. There is something so freeing and powerful, yet completely vulnerable because you're essentially sharing a little piece of you every time you perform in front of other people. Even if you're dancing someone else's choreography, you still open yourself up to experience and emotions they intended when creating the piece. Not to mention the way you relate to a song and the movements you choose to express those feelings are extremely personal. To me, this is what it means to have a passion for dance because you connect and relate to the overall experience on a much deeper level rather than chasing those superficial "hype" or "gimmick" dances. If you end up feeling some type of emotion while watching another person dance, then that's proof they themselves are passionate about the trade.

For this post I'll be sharing some shots from a photo shoot that was inspired by Sia's song Move Your Body. To accompany these photos, you'll also find some choreography to this song...one video is with just me and the other is with a few students from my intermediate hip hop class. I surprise myself sometimes with the choreography and poses I am able to perform and come up with, especially since I was never formally trained in Contemporary, Modern, or Ballet dance styles so flexibility definitely isn't my strongest technique, but I'm always trying to challenge myself with new styles, stretching, and push myself a little harder each time. I have noticed progress...through my freestyles, actual choreo, and overall body movements...what more could I ask for?! I'll continue to strive for a little more each time because progression is more satisfying than perfection.

Just letting myself have fun and exploring my creativity. Here's a few more shots and then we'll get to the choreography.

THAT COST WHAT?!

Floral White Mesh Bodysuit (Forever 21): $21

Light Turquoise Pleated Skirt (Forever 21): $16.50

GRAND TOTAL = $37.50


Figuring out new ways to incorporate dance into my life is really enjoyable and I can't wait to bring you more dance inspired content!


THE CHOREOGRAPHY

SIA is a unique artist and individual, often drawing inspiration from unconventional ideas and situations. Her song Move Your Body is about expressing yourself through freeing movements and embracing who you are as a person. I wanted to capture this message through my choreo and give my students a dance that really lets them showcase their personality. The movements are more on the simpler side in order to really let the overall performance shine. For my solo video, besides trying to work within a small space, I just wanted to let loose and enjoy the song. Hope you like!!!

Beginning and Intermediate classes are held Sunday nights at UC Riverside's Student Recreation Center. Times and pricing are as follows: Beginning 7:00 - 8:00pm | Intermediate 8:00 - 9:00pm, $25 for students | $30 for non-students.

Thanks for taking the time to read through this post and check out my choreography. I hope you're able to use it as inspiration some how in your own life. I'll be back soon with some more choreo tips and dances. For now, please feel welcomed to check out the other sections on my site for some additional inspiration.

To end this post, I'll leave you with some photos I was experimenting in, with various light and shadow play.

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page