top of page

CREATIVE FITNESS: USING NATURE TO INSPIRE WORKOUTS

Nature is a part of each and every one of us...it surrounds us, it consumes us...even when you want to escape, nature is always right outside your door. Once you embrace this concept, it becomes possible to use the nature around you as fuel or inspiration for numerous aspects of your life. Fitness is an important component in my life and I turn to it not only for health purposes, but also because it's a way to decompress and recenter my mind. Nature has a similar effect on my body so by taking my workout outside I was able to draw inspiration and strength from the earth beneath my feet, which allowed me relax, focus on my breathing, and really tune into my body.

Normally when I workout I have my music blasting and encouraging or even setting the pace for my exercises. By stepping outside, removing the music, and just listening to the sounds of the outdoors, I got the chance to slow down, take in peace and exhale any stress/negativity. I centered myself through various poses both dance and yoga related, jumped to release energy and test strength, as well as took moments in between to just breathe with the flow of the wind.


During this time I was also able to capture some great shots that I think truly showcase how I was feeling in the moment. I trekked through some small hills and found different spots along the way, each of which expresses a change in emotion, which in turn related to the workouts I was executing. Some target the legs, glutes, and core, while others focused on balance. I also took the time to just revel in the atmosphere and soak in my surroundings. I hope you enjoy the pictures and may they inspire you to explore the outdoors either with your workouts or just in general...there's so much you can gain from taking some time with nature.


STRETCHING IN THE HILLS

For this particular area I was feeling the hills and the plants around me, specifically paying attention to the shapes of the items in my surroundings. I then set out to relate some of my favorite exercise moves and stretches to the shapes I was seeing and held that position while concentrating on my breathing and mindset. Trying to clear my head and look internally, while pulling energy from nature.


PRIVATE PROPERTY

I LOVE the clouds in this series of pictures, they're gloomy yet so beautiful in how the blue peeks through the gray. Throughout these photos, besides the bad ass feeling the fence and private property sign gave off, I though mostly about my legs and creative ways I could work them without doing typical exercises. I started climbing the fence and squatting in unique positions...believe it or not I was feeling a burn about half way through so I just embraced it, started holding poses a little longer each time and really getting lost in the moment for a special experience.


LOGGIN' THE CORE

During my adventure I came across this log and thought it was the perfect spot to do some core work, push ups, tricep dips, and even some twists on leg lifts/kicks. I took the time to think about the alignment of my body, whether or not my core was engaged, as well as which muscle groups I wanted to target. It was great getting down and dirty and feeling like one with nature.


JUMPING & POSING

This last stop on my nature inspired fitness journey was more focused towards dance and explosive jumps or leaps. I also took some time to think about my posing and how I can create new shapes or express different emotions through my body language. To say I was inspired during this photo shoot and workout is an understatement and I highly encourage, especially if you are feeling disconnect from yourself or fitness, to get outside and explore your mind, body, and connection with nature. You might discover more than you ever expected to find!!!

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page