top of page

CREATIVE FITNESS: PLYO-BOX COMBOS

Now that we are a week into the new year, I'm sure many of you are looking for fitness inspiration to either get you to the gym or if you're like me, to spice up your current workout regime. Well, I hope you need not look any further...I'm "fit"tin' to send some fitness inspiration your way!! Yesterday, my CREATIVE FITNESS warm-up involved plyo-boxes, but I used them in some unconventional ways other than the typical box jump many of us have come to know.

This post will showcase three plyo-box sequences, which include rest times and rep counts, although they can of course be modified to fit your own personal needs. All of the workouts target different areas of the body, coming together for a total body warm-up. I'm sure if you increased the amount of reps and played with different weights, these combos could be expanded into an entire workout routine. Check out my videos for some ideas on the many ways you could incorporate plyo-boxes into your fitness routine.


PLYO-BOX SEQUENCE #1

This first sequence was my initial warm-up to my warm-up...lol I know that sounds weird, but it is important to get your blood moving and muscles warm before jumping into a full on workout. Here is a break down of the movements included in this sequence:


Box Level 1:

- 30 Toe Taps (15 ea. leg)...feel free to add reps as needed

- 10 Kick Backs alternating legs...kick so it's possible to maintain balance

- 10 Knee Ups continuing with alternating legs

*small break*

Box Level 3:

- 10 Elevated Push Ups...place hands on box

- 10 Knee-to-Chest into Kick Back alternating legs...make sure to squeeze booty at top

- 20 Side Kicks (10 ea. leg)...squeeze inner thigh on come down

*small break*

Box Level 2:

- 20 Split Lunges (10 ea. leg)...back foot raised on top of box

- 20 Split Squats (10 ea. leg)...alternate legs on box

- 10 Assisted Squats...completely sit on box before standing again


Celebrate because you finished the sequence!!! For my workout on this Sunday Funday I did this total sequence for 3 sets then moved on to sequence #2.


PLYO-BOX SEQUENCE #2

For this second sequence I increased the difficulty level of the moves and added weight (15lb dumbbells) in order to raise my heart rate as well as further engage all of my muscles. Continue reading below for the breakdown of this sequence:

Box Level 1:

- 20 Step Ups with Single Shoulder Press...there are 2 ways to perform this move, (1) step up completely before shoulder press or (2) step up and launch the shoulder press immediately.

TIP > Select a moderately heavy weight, you should feel some muscle resistance in your shoulder. You could also add a calf raise at the top if you're confident in your balance.

*small break*

Box Level 3:

- 10 Box Jumps...be sure to keep your hips and chest up, it is important to drive through your legs and use the core to lift your knees and feet on to the box. This is how you gain height within your jumps.

*small break*

Box Level 2:

- 20 Split Lunges with Dumbbells...again I'm using 15lbs

TIP > It is important to keep your chest up during this movement because sometimes adding weight can cause this it to drop. Also you can adjust your stance for varying levels of resistance...usually the wider the stance the more focus on the hamstring, while the smaller the stance the emphasis is on the quads.

This complete sequence is quite a bit more difficult than the first. It's primarily because of the added weight, however the box jumps also increase your heart rate and work the legs so when you go into the split lunges your legs are already on FIRE!!! The results are totally worth the pain so stick through it, you won't regret it...maybe during your sore days, but it gets better!

The whole sequence was done twice and then I continued on to sequence #3.


PLYO-BOX SEQUENCE #3

Finally, my last sequence was meant to bring focus to my abdominal muscles and give my arms/legs a bit of a rest before my actual workout began. I was pretty tired by this point in my warm-up and I think it's fairly evident in the video, but I kept pushing through and was able to finish the entire sequence. Below you'll find the breakdown for sequence #3:


Box Level 1:

- 10 Push Ups with Legs Raised...keep back straight and do not drop hips

- 20 Mountain Climbers with Legs Raised

*small break*

Box Level 2:

- 10 Triceps Dips...can be performed various ways; (1) with straight legs, which engages lower abdominal, (2) with bent legs making sure to start them at a 90-degree angle, and finally (3) adding a kick, which engages the lower abdominal and hamstring. The last variation is the most challenging.

*small break*

Box Level 3:

- 50 Bicycle Kicks...this also has a few different variations for certain fitness levels; (1) keep hands on box for stability, (2) removing hands and adding a twist, and (3) raising hands above head and sending all focus towards the abdominal muscles.


I completed 2 sets of this entire sequence before then beginning my actual workout, which focused on my triceps and back.

 

Since I have started exploring new workout options, I can feel my inspiration and passion growing. I have a stronger ambition that is driving my workouts and pushing me in a way I've never experienced before. Also, I can tell my body is liking this new workout schedule because I'm feeling soreness again and starting to break a sweat during my workouts. There was a point in my fitness timeline where I could go through an hour and a half workout and not sweat at all, now my muscles are engaged and hard at work. I must say I'm loving every minute of it and can't wait to share new fun and inspiring workouts with you all!!!


Keep pushing my friends!


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page