top of page

CREATIVE FITNESS: GLIDE ON INTO 2017

It's officially 2017, and the year is full of fresh new opportunities for EVERYONE!!

Usually for the new year I don't like to make resolutions or say "new year, new me" because I believe you should be setting goals for yourself regularly and not just at the first of the year. Instead, maybe sit down during this first week and write down things you'd like to see happen for you this year...perhaps it's a promotion or even something more personal like trying to stress less. Now, once you have written these down, go back and figure out what little things you need to do to get to that end result...these are your goals for the year. Give yourself some type of time frame for each goal and see how much faster you'll reach that final achievement!!! Trust me, it has worked for me and not only do I feel more organized with my life, I am less stressed, happier, my relationship is thriving, and I am in better physical shape than I have ever been (for being close to 30, I am quite excited about this...I don't believe I'm even close to my prime yet - so much work to do still haha and I'm ready!!). This works for financial situations as well, such as saving for bills, rent, extra fun stuff...anything really; you just want to set smaller budgets/goals and eventually you'll have a nice amount saved by the next year.


I am all about self-improvement, being more physically active and fit has opened my mind and truly helped me find myself. Inspiring others is my calling and I want to do that in any way possible. One of them is through sharing fun, creative workouts that encourage all people to step a little outside their box and try something new. I have been blown away by the things I have been able to accomplish, not only in the gym, but throughout my life as well and I hope that others will get to experience these feelings too.


Tonight, I am going to be sharing some cool total body workouts that are done with gliders. Gliders help with using your own body weight for resistance and build core strength. Most of these workouts I am going to share are challenging, but I have been searching for ways to amp up my own exercises and push myself farther. I was getting way too comfortable with my "normal routine" and I'm so glad I switched it up!!!


GLIDER PUSH UPS

Now, this one is a hard one...it takes core, back, arm, and shoulder strength as well as serious balance. To help with my balance I widen my feet a bit to give me better stability when I slide my arms forward. This was definitely challenging for me, but boy did it feel amazing after! I can tell I am getting stronger in my arms and core. Plus my balance is also improving...I'm starting to be able to lift my leg when I slide so there might be an alternate more advanced version to this move coming soon.

If you would like to try something like this, maybe start with knees down if you're not completely comfortable. Slowly move your knees further and further back to increase the difficulty level, eventually working your way up to the plank position. The gliders are on my hands and for this move I am sliding one arm straight out forward, while the other is in a triceps-style push up. The amount of reps and sets should be determined by each individual as everyone will be at a different fitness level, but it is a great exercise to do in between other chest or shoulder workouts.


GLIDER AB VARIATIONS

Almost all fitness levels should be able to start using these ab exercises in their own workouts. Similar to when I used a towel (in a previous video) to engage my abs, the gliders separate the legs and force them to work on their own, which adds resistance to the inner thighs (since you're squeezing to keep your legs together and then opening them once you reach the peak - for the first move). You can break up each ab exercise or keep them blended together like I have done so. When blending them together try to set a number for each move, that way you're getting an even, all over body workout.


GLIDER LEG VARIATIONS

Looking to plump up that bootay?? Well, incorporate these glider moves with your resistance band workouts and YOU. WILL. BE. BOOTYLICIOUS!!!

I honestly think you could add gliders to almost any squat or lung variation. It further intensifies the resistance to the muscles, which helps them grow. By doing the side lunge I have been able to build hips I never thought possible, but they are filling out nicely. :) It just goes to show how in control of your body you can be and you don't need any type of plastic surgery to fix it. Now granted I know not all things can be fixed from working out, but it doesn't hurt to give it a try and see where it takes you. The same that was said above about the amount of reps/sets should be determined by the individual still applies as well as whether or not to keep the moves combined together or split them up to drive focus towards a particular area.


PULL UP BAR ABS

I do these two ab workouts pretty much anytime I'm in the gym. No other ab workout engages my abs quite like this (well basically all of the different ab workouts I do from the pull-up bar are the best, but also the hardest) even though it took me a long time to be able to do any of these workouts. So don't give up, you'll get there eventually...progress is much more important than perfection.

If you have that lower pooch like I do, then this exercise will be your savior. This is the workout that helped me flatten and strengthen my lower abs as I wasn't always able to bring my toes all the way up to the bar. The side lift helps form that to-die-for v-cut and also will get rid of that unwanted muffin top.


PULL UP BAR OBLIQUES

Love handles be gone!!! Although it might take some time to do this exercise with straight legs, you could still get a great workout by bending your legs. It will be much easier to rotate them around continuously and you'll be able to lift higher. You could also bend your arms (in a bicep curl position) and then swing from side to side...I'll show this variation another time. This is probably the most difficult workout (besides the push ups) that is demonstrated, but it really works the core. Not to mention, if I can have abs...french fry, donut loving me...then so can you!!!!

Always push yourself a little harder each time...you'll be amazed at the things you can accomplish. Check back later this week to find out what the next Staple Piece will be...if you don't already have one in your closet for this winter season, then you're going to be running out to get one! You'll see, it's the perfect piece to throw on and complete any outfit.


Thank you very much for reading this post. I hope you have a new found inspiration for your upcoming workouts and even just for life in general. Happy 2017!!!


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page