top of page

STAPLE PIECE: TANK MAXI DRESS

It's SUMMER TIME!!!! Break out the fruity cocktails, big sunglasses, and easy breezy dresses....the time has come to take in the sun, and in what better way than rockin' a cool tank maxi dress?! This no-effort dress will be a must have for your summer closet, because similar to the simplicity of the t-shirt dress this outfit is absolutely something you can put together in 5 minutes, but still be comfortable, yet look 100% stylish.

Most tank maxi dresses are super affordable and made out of comfy cotton, which makes them breathable and perfect during those hot summer days. Plus they are extremely versatile and come in a range of styles, patterns, and colors. The two I'll be sharing with you today are both stripped, except one has a high low skirt style whereas the one above is floor length. I wore the same white tennis shoes with each dress because, well...they're just so freaking cute and magically go with everything!

I wore each of these outfits to work (with a jacket on top) and took the pictures during my lunch break. Lunch time shoots are always fun, usually because I'm constrained on time, which actually ends up pushing me to come up with more creative ideas. The blue wall pictures are my favorite...I'm so thrilled with how they turned out and I just really let the clothes do the talking.


CASE OF THE BLUES

A color scheme I didn't intend, but totally ended up being unbelievably AWESOME is the bright blue, green, and orange!!! I wore the green and stripped maxi together initially, then once I got to lunch I found the orange lipstick in my purse and this blue wall in a business park area behind my work...these photos are what surmounted...

This outfit consists of this body-loving stripped maxi dress, a spring green cardigan (from this Chinese fashion website I found on one of my Facebook ads, they're SUPER inexpensive), and those perfect white sneakers. I accessorized with some emerald green chandelier earrings, cat-eye sunnies, and a rich reddish-orange lipstick. Hair's up in a bun, mainly because I was too lazy to tame the fro when I woke up that morning, but I think it adds to the summer time vibe of the look.

Now a little closer look at some of the details...

THAT COST WHAT?!

Black & White Stripped Tank Maxi Dress (Target): $12

Green Cardigan (rosegal.com): $4.50 (discontinued)

White Lace Tennis Shoes (Target): $15

Green Chandelier Earrings (LA County Fair): $32

Floral Cat-Eye Sunglasses (Target): 2 for $20

L'oreal Paris Always Apricot Lipstick (Walgreens): $7

GRAND TOTAL = $80.50


Just think how awesome a tank maxi dress could be in your closet...you could thrown it on over a bathing suit, dress it up with some wedges, or keep it cool and classic, like how I've accessorized my white and gray stripped maxi with timeless pearls and a simple black blazer. Oh and of course I can't forget the white lace tennis shoes!


HOLLY GO STRIPELY

Sometimes I think a high-low skirt style can look a little junior at times and whenever I am wearing an outfit with this type of hem length, I always make sure to add more adult touches (i.e. the blazer, pearls...). Even the round brown and taupe sunglasses give off a classic vibe, as if Audrey Hepburn permed her hair and stepped out onto today's streets for some shopping!

This maxi style has a elastic waist, which helps create shape to the body and gives the skirt more of a flowy movement. This is another one of those easy dresses that you can basically wear ANYWHERE!! Occasionally, I'll pair it with a bright colored crop top or tie up a t-shirt over top depending on the look I'm trying to achieve. Maybe as Fall gets closer and the weather colder, you could add a chunky knit sweater, cinch the waist in with a belt, and pair with your favorite booties. Truth of the matter is...there are c o u n t l e s s ways you could wear a tank maxi dress.


The photo shoot for this outfit is on the complete opposite spectrum as the blue wall shoot. First of all, it's not as vibrant and colorful, but there's also less intensity and attitude in order to create more of a simple look and vibe. Instead, I let nature do the talking on this one and then just enjoyed myself in the dress for the last few shots. Dance always seems to become integrated into my pictures some how and some of these photos are no exception. Have a looksie!!!

Here's me just living in my dress.

THAT COST WHAT?!

White & Gray High Low Stripped Maxi Dress (Nordstrom Rack): $11

Black Blazer (H&M): $45

White Lace Tennis Shoes (Target): $15

Pearl Necklace (Forever 21): $12.50

Pearl Earrings (Tiffany & Co.): GIFT

Round Frame Brown Sunglasses (Ross): $5

Maybelline Matte Lust for Blush Lipstick (Target): $8.50

GRAND TOTAL = $97


White & Grey High Low Stripped Maxi Dress | Nordstroms Rack ($11 - SALE), Black Blazer | H&M ($45), White Lace Tennis Shoes | Target ($15), Pearls & Gold Bows Necklace | Forever 21 ($12.50), Pearl Earrings | Tiffany's & Co. (gift), Round Frame Brown & Taupe Sunglasses | Ross ($5), Maybelline Matte Lipstick Lust for Blush | Target ($8.50).


Trust me...you will WANT a tank maxi dress this summer. It's going to be a hot one and what better outfit to put on than an easy, breezy tank maxi dress. For more inspiration check out my top 3 picks for tank maxi dresses and where you can find them!














FOREVER 21

A dusty pink dream for only $12!!!! This tank maxi has two slits, to add some sexy, and the v-neck cut helps highlight the chest and collar bones. Although it may be sexy, the color definitely brings it back into the sweet and innocent category...however that innocence might just be a facade.












LULUS

Nothing but class in this sleek navy blue tank maxi. The thick straps give extra support, while the high slit and form-fitting silhouette gives it added sex appeal. The deep blue automatically takes this dress into more of a nighttime look, but can be made to look more casual with some sandals or sneakers. This maxi could be yours for only $40!!














BOOHOO

The beach queen has arrived!!!! You'll definitely be turning heads in this fun palm print maxi that fits the body like a glove. I mean I want this in my closet like 2 days ago haha... For a low price of $26 (totally worth it) this flirty tank dress could be all yours. We might be twinsies in the near future though.


Alrighty then, that concludes the post for June's staple piece and boy do I hope this has brought you inspiration for your summer style. I really believe a maxi dress is the perfect staple piece to have in your wardrobe collection. It's such a versatile piece of fashion and can pretty much be worn throughout every season, but especially for summer. Come back soon for more fashion inspiration or head on over and read some of my other posts for tips in fitness as well as design.


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page