top of page

BOSS UP THOSE STRIPES

Stripes are a wonderful print, ranging anywhere from bold to subtle in both stripe size and color. Even the direction of the stripes can add to the drama of an outfit or act as a base when layering prints....for example, a vertical stripe can elongate the legs or torso depending on the garment, while a good horizontal stripe can enhance curves in all the right places.

For this look I was trying to go for that whole "Boss Business Woman" vibe, serving structure and personality in order to really play up the idea of a power suit, but in a more modern sense. I kept everything black so that the pants were the statement piece and embellished the outfit with subtle gold jewelry/details. The pants are a new addition to my wardrobe and as soon as I walked into Forever 21 there was like a bright glowing light shining down from above revealing all the glory of these pants...I feel in love instantly and just had to have them! Plus I couldn't pass up the price, they were practically a steal!!!

This photo shoot was not planned at all and I was driving around like a crazy person on my lunch break trying to find a good place to take some pictures of the outfit. Finally, I settled for a random spot in a parking lot by a palm tree...the colors of the tree and surrounding dirt seemed like decent backdrop to showcase these pants without feeling too busy. It ended up being a happy accident because I love the way these photos turned out. I even started playing around with the different color settings on my iPhone camera with the Vivid, Vivid Warm, and Vivid Cool options, which really made the colors in the pants and my surroundings much more vibrant making for a few interesting shots. I'll share those towards the end though so you all can get a good sense of how the pants look in more natural lighting.

The colors consist of a yellowish orange, a cream color with a hint of peach, the strong black, and then just a touch of that crisp white to bring everything together. I was also pleased that this look didn't turn into some sort of Halloween color overload and instead ended up looking much more trendy. At the end of this post I'll also be sharing a few other striped pants that I haven't been able to get a hold of, but are definitely on my wishlist as well as the details for this whole outfit.


Now, lets dive into all this stripe goodness!!


FILTERED IMAGES

The next few images I'll be sharing are the ones taken with different iPhone filters and ended up being some of my favorite shots I've taken in a long time. Hope you enjoy!


The Vivid Filter


The Vivid Cool Filter


The Vivid Warm Filter

THAT COST WHAT?!

Striped Pants (Forever 21): $17.99

Blazer Vest (Jessica Simpson Collection): $36

Black Long Sleeve (Target): 2 for $12.99

Black Booties (MP Couture): $48

Tassel Necklace (Macy's): $16

Black Round Sunglasses (Forever 21): $10

GRAND TOTAL = $134.49


Unfortunately I wasn't able to find these specific pants on the Forever 21 website, but I did find some that are extremely similar and share a very close, unbeatable price tag. Click here to be redirected to their site and the alternative pants I was able to find.


FAVORITE STRIPED LOOKS

Throughout this small section, I'll be sharing 3 of my favorite striped looks I've found while browsing through Pinterest, which is something I do on my spare time, haha, lots of good inspiration for various projects, outfits, decor, and even motivational posts. Hoping these looks will bring you some stripe inspiration just like they brought me.

Well there you have it folks! May this post and these final looks bring you fresh outfit inspiration and possibly even spark those creative juices for different ways you can mix and match patterns in your own closet. Hoping you all have a stripe-tastic week filled with color and positive vibes!!!

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page