top of page

STAPLE PIECE: BOMBER JACKETS

Definitely feeling like a modern-day Pink Lady in this sweet and silky bomber jacket, which is what inspired this month's STAPLE PIECE...BOMBER JACKETS!!!

I've been seeing bomber jackets any and everywhere in all types of styles. I found this gem at Forever 21 for $32, but there were several other options available and of course I wanted them all. The great thing about bomber jackets is they are so easy to throw on over almost any outfit...a cute little slip dress, with jeans or a jumper, crop top and shorts, or even class it up with a pencil skirt and heels. There's just so many directions this piece could go in and I encourage everyone (guys included) to go out and get one now for this winter season. Not to mention it will be the perfect transition accessory as we move from winter to spring.


Throughout this post I'll be sharing a few ways I've styled three of my own bomber jackets as well as my top five websites for where you can find them. To start, I'll talk a bit more about the pink and red silk bomber from Forever 21...it did inspire this post after all.


MODERN PINK LADY

This jacket makes me feel sexy and cool all at the same time. The silky material paired with the soft pink and cream colors adds a sweetness, while the contrasting red flowers and birds create a dramatic pop. There is also a bit of Japanese flare, which can be seen in the print with the cranes and cherry blossoms along with the watercolor-like effect. I have ritually been wearing this jacket since I got it, but I have also got so many compliments!! I haven't seen many people with it either so it makes me feel like it's a unique and special piece in my closet.

For this specific look I have paired the jacket with a sleeveless cotton cowl-necked jumpsuit. It is wide legged with a drawstring waist and EXTREMELY comfortable. The jumpsuit is a great throw on piece and can be dressed up or dressed down by simply adding a pair of wedges or heels. I wore this outfit to work so I went with my vans, since I'm up and walking around throughout my day. However, I also wore this jacket on Christmas Eve with a tight pink tank dress and my cream sneaker wedges. I accessorized with a jeweled choker, dual ear cuffs, and stacked rink set. (I'm positive I'll reuse that outfit so you'll see it on here eventually...) For now check out how the jacket inspired this look and my little photo shoot...a little mix of urban with a bit of nature.

THAT COST WHAT?!

Taupe Cotton Jumpsuit (Nordstrom Rack): $15

Pink & Red Floral Bomber Jacket (Forever 21): $32

Tan Sneakers (Vans): $42

Black Sunglasses (Ray Ban): GIFT/FREE

GRAND TOTAL = $89


CLASSIC URBAN ATTITUDE

Black and gray is probably one of my most used color palettes when it comes to my clothing. Almost everything I wear starts with either something black or gray...there's just something about that color pairing I find super chic. So when I found this puffy light gray bomber from Clothesenvy.com for just $25 I knew there was no turning back...I had to have it, even if it meant using my credit card (I bought a gray choker with it too in order to get free shipping haha...oops).

This outfit comes together with a faux leather pencil skirt, a combo of a mock neck crop top layered over a simple black tee (I was going to work and it was cold in the morning), and a pair of black and gray ombre sneakers. I zipped up the jacket a little for most of the day since you can see the crop over the tee...maybe next time I'll put the crop under the tee and see how it looks. You can also find this jacket styled in a more leisurewear look in my "Creating your Personal(ity) Style" post. Browse through this urban style shoot for some bomber jacket inspiration of your own...

THAT COST WHAT?!

Faux Leather Pencil Skirt (hotmiamistyles.com): $29

Black Mock Neck Crop Top (Forever 21) $7

Gray Bomber Jacket (clothesenvy.com): $25

Black & Gray Ombre Sneakers (Kmart): $10

Black Hoop Earrings (Express): $12

Round Gold Sunglasses (ASOS): $20

GRAND TOTAL = $103


CALI GIRL CASUAL

This outfit is much more laid back and relaxed than the others...I call it my I'm lazy, but still want to look cool outfit. To achieve the casual coolness of this look I have an over-sized long sleeve Captain America shirt with black leggings and my blue sneaker wedges. I think the sneaker wedges do elevate the look from just rolled out of bed to I just rolled out of bed, but I still have style haha, while the Captain America shirt adds playfulness and a little humor.

Anyways, about the bomber jacket...it is actually a hand-me-down from my Grandpa. I got my hands on this big cozy maroon and navy bomber jacket after he passed away, but I'm looking on the positive side because now I have a part of him always with me and might I add he does make me look quite cool.

THAT COST WHAT?!

Captain America Sweater (Target): $12

Black Stripe Leggings (Nike): $45

Navy Blue Sneaker Wedges (Forever 21): $22

Navy & Burgundy Bomber Jacket (Grandpas'): Hand-me-down

Black Sunglasses (Ray Ban): GIFT/FREE - orig. $250

GRAND TOTAL = $79


If you were inspired by some of the ways I styled my own personal bomber jackets, then feel free to browse the sites listed below. I consider these websites my current top five (in no particular order) for some of the most interesting, unique, and AFFORDABLE bomber jackets.

I truly hope you were inspired by this post. I am in love with bomber jackets and I'm positive I'll add more styles to my own collection over time. They are a great jacket for any occasion and can be transformed into almost any style in order to fit with anybody's personality.


Looking for fitness inspiration? Check out my newest CREATIVE FITNESS post, which explores fun, unconventional workouts using plyo-boxes.


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page