top of page

SOPHISTICATE MY ORANGE

Orange is such a cheerful color that instantly brightens my day as soon as I put on something in that color. According to BournCreative, orange is the color of joy and creativity (probably why I relate to it so well), that promotes a sense of general wellness and emotional energy that should be shared, such as compassion, passion, and warmth. It's even been said that orange can help a person recover from disappointments, a wounded heart, or even a blow to one's pride. There's countless items in life I'm drawn to that are orange...and this top is one of them!!

Surprisingly, this isn't one solid dress...the skirt is what's actually part of a dress and then I put the orange mock neck tank over top, folding the bottom hem under to create a cropped look. I thought it was a great pair and I felt amazing while wearing the outfit, plus I got quite a few compliments. I wore this look for my company, Dunn Edwards', 92nd Anniversary where each store has a sale, gives out cake and other goodies, decorates, and of course dresses up in the company's colors (orange and black). Naturally I had to spice it up a bit haha. While I was at work, since I can't wear sleeveless, I paired it with my navy blue cardigan - featured in Flirty Ruffles & Red All Over - and my denim Tom booties. Oh, referring to my earlier Instagram post, this is one of those outfits you could wear without a bra (I'm not wearing one), including another post called Twisted Wednesday. I'm a huge fan of braless fashion so any chance I get I definitely take full advantage.


I also got to help decorate the store as well as create a couple of centerpieces and sale display buckets for my store. I'll be sharing those pictures too!


THE OUTFIT

THAT COST WHAT?!

Geometric Print Dress (Macy's): $52.99

Orange Mock Neck Tank Top (Kmart + Nicki Minaj): $15

Toms Denim & Hemp Wedge Booties (Zumez): $64

Black Tassel Necklace (Macy's): $26.90

Rose Gold Watch (Michael Kors): GIFT - orig. $250

Black Sunglasses (Ray Ban): GIFT - orig. $260

GRAND TOTAL = $158.99


THE DECORATIONS

It was actually pretty fun making the store look like it's ready for a Halloween party, plus we had some yummy cake and cupcakes. Also, I got to design a couple paint related centerpieces as well as put together these buckets that showcased all of our sale items for the day.


For the centerpieces I took a plain gallon paint can and placed a roll of our 4-pack of tape in the center for support. Then I stuffed the entire can with brown paper in order to hold up the 5-gallon stir stick with the 92nd Anniversary logo on top. I designed and created the logo in Photoshop based off the design they had on our sale flyers, then I glued it down to some fun foam for extra stability and decorated the stir stick with some graphic triangles in the colors of our store. It was a great added touch, didn't take up too much room on the table, and helped keep the spirit throughout the store!! Here's all the pictures below.

Simple, sleek, and graphic...I'm definitely a fan!


Well, thanks again for stopping by. If you want to stay on the inspiration train, go check out a couple other fashion posts up today: Twisted Wednesday and Cactus Cooler over in the Affordable Fashion section.


Happy My Style Monday!!!

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page