top of page

SINGING IN THE RAIN

I love rainy weather, especially because of all the cozy clothes you get to wear in the rain. Big coats and boots are definitely my cup of tea...or should I say cup of coffee haha.


For this post, I'll be sharing one of my go-to rainy day outfits. The burgundy cable knit turtleneck is super comfy and not to mention chic. It is sleeveless and fairly long in length, which I think is what makes it so interesting and sophisticated. In this look, I paired it with a simple black long sleeve for extra warmth. I pretty much throw on this sweater whenever I can't think of what to wear because it goes so well with a pair of boots and leggings. Then I added my long black matrix coat and I look like I should be strutting through the big city.

Well unfortunately, no city background, but I did find this quaint little spot during my lunch break today. The sun was just breaking through the clouds and the rain had subsided...it was PICTURE TIME!!!

The little green handbag you see has been one of my favorite purchases of the new year and I've been using it nonstop ever since I first got it from Forever 21. The bag comes in a variety of 3 different colors and it was incredibly affordable. Mini handbags are definitely trending right now and can be found in a variety of fun shapes and styles. Click here for the direct link to the purse or here to browse through all the handbags Forever 21 has available. They do have a few options that are slightly bigger or have minute differences compared to the handbag I purchased.

The coat, boots, and leggings are all staple pieces in my everyday wardrobe and believe me I do wear them often. The coat is from Victoria Secret...back when they used to sell clothes...and my two favorite things about it are that it's black and long. Most of the other coats I own are shorter, usually coming to about my waist, but then that leaves my booty cold. So with the long coat I feel all bundled up, plus it looks super mysterious and dramatic (hence why I call it my Matrix coat)...I LOVE IT!!!


My boots are Cathy Jean and I have had them for quite a while now. I remember buying them during a huge blowout sale and ended up getting 75% off from the original price of $135!! Unfortunately they are a bit big, but I simply couldn't pass up that deal. Eventually, I need to invest in more boots...I have a few booties, but besides a black pair with heels, these are the only boots I own. I've been checking out MissLola.com pretty frequently though, they have had some great sales going on lately and their shoe selection just keeps getting better and better. Their prices are amazing and they've just recently started selling clothes too, which I would describe as having an upscale Forever 21 vibe. If you're interested in browsing through their boots selection you can click here.

Originally, I really wanted to shoot in the rain, but as soon as I got on my lunch break the rain stopped and the sun started coming out. It made the trees in this little nook of a parking lot glow a vibrant green and the sky was speckled with blue through the light gray clouds...it was beautiful. Plus the little pine cones on the ground were so cute, I'm glad they are visible in a lot of the shots. As for the umbrella, even though it wasn't raining I still wanted to use it. I really like the visual interest it adds to some of the pictures.


I'm definitely starting to like creatively directing my own shoots...with each passing photo shoot I can tell my concepts and shot ideas are improving not only in visual appeal but in content as well. My lovely mom got me a camera and tripod for Christmas, so I can't wait to experiment with it in some of my future shoots and life adventures. (There is also an attachment on the tripod for my iPhone...so cool!)


Please enjoy the rest of my photos from this lunch break shoot.

THAT COST WHAT?!

Burgundy Turtle Neck Sweater (Forever 21): $25.50

Black Sheen Leggings (H&M): $15

Black Long Peacoat (Victoria Secret): GIFT/FREE

Tan Boots (Cathy Jean): $135 orig./$40 on sale

Emerald Mini Handbag (Forever 21): $22.90

Triangle Drop Earrings (Forever 21): $6.50

GRAND TOTAL = $112.90


Hope this post helped with finding a little bit of inspiration today, despite the gloomy skies and rain we have going on here in SoCal. I think this shoot is a great example to highlight that the sun will come out again...alluding to the idea that there is always the slightest bit of hope in some of the darkest situations.

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page