top of page

SAVAGE OLIVE

"...her soul is fierce, her heart is brave, her mind is strong..." - R.H. Sin

If you haven't guessed already, this is going to be a self-love, body positivity post that shares some of the body insecurities I've dealt with, how I balance healthy eating and comfort foods, as well as what I've done to achieve the body I never imagined I could have...and at 28, I'm just getting started!!


Also I had a quickie photo shoot right outside my apartment complex in front of this bike rack. It was surprisingly the perfect location for some fitness/dance/overall powerful vibes poses and just let the iPhone camera timer do its thing. I'll even share a little blooper reel where I ate shit off the bike rack trying to balance in a pike hold...it's pretty hilarious and I highly suggest you scroll through. Plus it just goes to show everyone falls, fails, gets knocked down - however you want to look at it - but the important part is how you get back up, over come, and move forward stronger and wiser than before. Right after that fall I got the shot I intended, which leads me to a point I'm sure I've made in previous posts...try, try, try again. HAPPY MONDAY!!!


BODY INSECURITIES

I think it's safe to save almost everyone experience some type of body insecurity at some point in their life. Whether it's you hate your large nose, obsessed with body weight, or even constantly fantasizing that you looked like someone else. All of it routes back to body insecurities and it's our responsibilities as human beings to learn how to over come these issues...grow and then share those experiences with others in hopes that they will be able to relate and apply those newly learned ideas to their own lifestyle. When people feel alone they distance themselves, which only isolates them even more so by sharing similar experience with each other we end up forming a unique bond that can help us all feel like we're not alone in this world...someone understands.


Growing up I got made fun of mainly for my "big" nose and "white spots", which also ended up corresponding with being mixed racially - getting called names like big bird, Oreo, Pinocchio, coconut, Wop (Italian mut), etc. Now these weren't really that hurtful personally, but after hearing them time and time again they do make an imprint and you begin to think..."do I need to change?" I considered getting my nose done as well as visited dermatologists about removing the Vitiligo spots, but it all got really tiring and I started focusing my energy on other aspects of my life. Once I got to college I forgot all about those particular insecurities...owned them and now that I rock them with confidence everyone else gets on board with accepting them too. It's not only empowering, but that alone feeling continues to dissipate.


As far as dealing with body weight problems, I must confess I never really went through those issues. I've been fairly skinny my entire life, having a gut every now and then, but no real insecurities. It wasn't until during one of my Evo Hip Hop Crew performances (at UCR), where I felt entirely short of breath, did I realize I needed a lifestyle change and that epiphany is what as gotten me to where I am today. Read more in the Body Goals section for my fitness body journey.


CLEAN EATING VS. COMFORT FOODS

THE STRUGGLE IS REAL, I KNOW!!!!!!!!!!


Now I know I am not the only one who deals with (on the daily) whether I should eat a nice healthy salad, some ground turkey and veggies or grub so hard on that pepperoni pizza, finishing the night off with a delicious desert of half a dozen donuts. Guess what though...let me tell you a secret...you can have both! Moderation, balance, those are going to be your best friends in the wonderful world of food. I like to stick to the 80/20 rule, where I stick to a healthy, well-balanced nutritious diet about 80% of the time and treat myself to those sinful dishes 20% of the time. Of course this ratio varies from time to time, but for the majority of my weeks/months I stick to this plan.


Eating healthy and moderating my food portions has really helped with toning and muscle definition. I do eat frequently throughout the day (4-5 times...occasionally 6), but those meals are small and some are even just snacks/protein shakes. I started macro-tracking last year and that really increased muscle definition as well as strength. I definitely felt as though I was able to lift more during my workouts. This brings me to my main point, that in order to achieve an athletic/fitness inspired body clean eating and regular exercise (include lifting weights!) go hand-in-hand, but also don't be afraid to treat yourself every once in a while because it's no secret deprivation doesn't help get those cravings off your mind.


So eat that cupcake, enjoy that bowl of spaghetti, and savor those french fries because you deserve them. Remember...the salad will always be there tomorrow.


BODY GOALS

Never did I ever imagine I would have ab definition. This was something I thought only possible in my wildest fantasy's, but lookey here...we have some sneaky little abs poking out there!!! They come and say hi about 3-4 days out the week regularly, depending on my diet of course and weekly exercise schedule. Plus, I was able to grow a wittle booty, some baby biceps, and even pretty decent shoulder definition.


My workouts have varied over this like 7 year or so fitness journey of mine and have all contributed to how my body has shaped over time and into what it is now. At the start of getting into fitness I focused a lot on dance and other forms of cardio (stair masters, elliptical, occasional fitness class), but mainly dance, especially since I was on a team at the time. Once I graduate I began getting more into other types of fitness, doing Insanity, basically religiously, with my roommates at the time accompanied with trips to the gym and weight room. Slowly I got into lifting weights, trying more core intensive moves, as well as learning how to build upper body strength without compromising the figure I desired to achieve. This hasn't been an easy journey, that still continues to this day and even will keep progressing forward to tomorrow. I strive for something new each day, whether it be a new move, incorporating/infusing different fitness styles together, or even just taking time out to center myself mentally and physically through stretching or yoga. Trying new things can be liberating and you'll probably surprise yourself from time to time with what you can do and what you actually end up liking.


Hope you're feeling inspired!!


BIKE RACK SHOOT

I was feeling some kind of inspired today because right after I got back from dropping off my boyfriend at work, while I was letting the dogs out I started picturing myself playing around on this bike rack. The parking lot was empty and this outfit was fire so I thought...why not!?! Let's do it! I grabbed my tripod out of my trunk, set up the iPhone, and just had fun. As I promised above, I'll share the shots of me falling from one of my poses (thanks to the 10 sec. timer/photo burst) it captured the entire slip and yes it's freaking hilarious. I laugh at myself all the time and it has helped me get through some tough times. So I encourage you not to be so serious all the time, laugh at nothing from time to time, embrace your flaws, and march to the beat of your own drum. You are not alone...venture out and find your people because they're absolutely out there. The ones that will encourage your dreams, support you in hard times, and push you into the greatest you possible.


Enjoy!

THAT COST WHAT?!

Olive Green Sports Bra (Victoria's Secret): $29.50

Olive Green Mesh Stripe Legging (Victoria's Secret): $66.50 - olive color SOLD OUT

*Sports Bra & Legging set purchased as pair: $50*

Hot Pink & Gray Nike Free Runners (Nordstrom Rack): $45 - discontinued

GRAND TOTAL = $95


THE FALL

Well here it is....frame by frame lol

Definitely felt my stomach drop during this moment, but you live and you learn so I chalk this up as a learning experience and push forward. Here's the core hold I was trying to achieve in the first place.

Takes time and practice to build up the core strength to confidently hold this pose and I have been working on being able to get into and stick it. My gymnastic roots come out every once in a while...


May this post bring you inspiration to get you through the week and many, many more!

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page