top of page

AMERICANA | THE BALANCING ACT

Happy Labor Day everyone!!!!! I hope you all are having a wonderfully fantastic extended weekend (for some) spent with family, friends, or doing whatever it is you wanted to do! Yesterday I got to have a total lazy Sunday with my man and doggies, but today I'm working for the earlier part of the day. However, during my lazy time yesterday, I started reflecting on how fortunate I am and have been in life. These thoughts transported me back to Fourth of July weekend when I took a trip to a Malibu Beach. Standing there on the rocks, listening to the waves, and just appreciating the unbelievable sunset inspired me to write this post and share some of my own tips on how I balance the various aspects of life within our crazy American society and even coupe with the struggles many are experiencing today.

Now, this is not a politically driven post nor will I be expressing my specific views although there will be political undertones from time to time. My main goal is just to express that there should be equal opportunities for all Americans (we are a melting pot, all of us may look different externally, but inside we all want success for our country, family, and friends) and some of the things we as Americans can do to help continue to pave the road for the future. Between our current President's actions (whether you agree or disagree with them) since coming in to office and the growing divide between many Americans I can slowly see people's faith in humanity diminishing, which is causing some to segregate on their own and associate only with people who think like they do. In a way it feels like a high school movie where all of the different groups segregate themselves based on likeness (i.e. Band Members, Theater Students, Jocks...), except now we're back to dealing with the split of race and gender despite ones "political" views/party. Sometimes, it feels like there's just so much going on between groups, I can't even wrap my head around it to properly comprehend it all, but then you see those who come together in times of need, like with Hurricane Harvey and all the people who have rushed out to help anyone they can...if we can find ways to harness this energy everyday, we would be looking at a completely different America.


Technology is one of the main factors that has drastically shaped the way we presently live, which in turn has changed the personalities and desires of Americans over time. We demand quick services, convenient luxuries, and constant praise or reassurance. Not trying to bring anyone down, because I include myself in this assessment, but I really do believe we have only gotten lazier as a society (thank you technology), yet still have a demanding mindset and that is what has also contributed to our current circumstances where we have more "take situations" than "give moments". These problems, unfortunately, have always been a part of American society, but as we progress further and further into the future, these issues are only becoming more prominent as technology propels us forward. We think a lot about ourselves...often dwelling or even comparing our internal struggles to others with the idea they are solely our own or we place blame on others, either way it's turning into ME, ME, ME!! This leads us to forget that there are other people who can relate because of similar experiences or if someone disagrees then they're immediately shut down and dismissed, usually in a negative way too; the common phrase, "you don't know what I've been through" is thrown around often in these situations and people aren't really listening to each other. THIS is our problem...


Some of the ways I balance this divide is by being generally kind to those around me, even if someone is not reciprocating the action. Also, lend an open ear whenever you can...listen, I mean really listen to what others have to say. You may be surprised with the viewpoints you're able to learn about (even if you don't agree) or even find yourself relating to another person in a whole new way. If we can communicate better between people then we will create a stronger foundation for future generations to build on. These are two simple things you can do, that require no extra effort, but will drastically change the outcome of countless situations. Ultimately, we as Americans, well actually just as a human being, really want the same things out of life. - A world with less violence, thriving economies with lots of job opportunities, dependable education systems for our youth, reliable healthcare, and to just be able to enjoy the earth we live on with friends and family. All of this is possible and everyone will have a part to play.


Energy is a real thing and human beings can pick up on and share energy between each other and their environments, so start to think about the type of energy you're giving off on a regular basis. When your mad or upset do those feelings end up affecting those around you? If so it's time to start paying more attention to how you're reacting to different situations and then what you can do to change that reaction for a more positive outcome. Again, I'll go back to being kind and listening...two major things all human beings can take part in and share with each other that require no extra effort.


Well, since I got my little kindness spiel and serious talk out of the way...for the remainder of this post I'll be sharing the photos and adventures from my Fourth of July Malibu trip, which I hope you all can use as inspiration for your own personal reflections or just daily life.


MALIBU ADVENTURES

This really was a fun little day trip with my boyfriend and his mom - it was also her birthday plus I hadn't been to the beach in FOREVER so definitely well overdue! First, we stopped at this restaurant called Neptune's Net and they have a delicious selection of seafood. We ordered the Seafood Platter, fried of course, and then just some calamari as an appetizer. The platters are so large you can absolutely share between 2-4 people and then don't forget the drinks...they have a pretty decent choice of alcohol or just regular soft drinks if you're not a big drinker. Afterwards we headed across the street to the beach for a relaxing, sunset walk and some exploring. My boyfriend and his mom were having a nice little moment (which I got a great shot of - keep scrolling below) while I was snapping selfies in the background. Mr. Ricky Haro (boyfriend) busted out the Depth Effect on his iPhone and was able to capture some incredible moments. I'm not really a big beach person, more of a mountain gal, but none-the-less, you can't really beat a beach sunset and the one we witnessed is simply stunning. Actually, I'm excited to start planning another little beach trip, maybe try to find somewhere remote and quite...waiting to be explored!


THE OUTFIT

THAT COST WHAT?!

Feather Crop Top (Papaya): 2-piece set $22.80

Button Fly Jean Shorts (Forever 21): $15

Denim & Hemp Toms Booties (Zumez): $64

Brown Braided Belt (Hand-me-down): FREE

Gold Necklace Set (Forever 21): $10.50

Gold Arrow Choker (Target): set of 3 for $10

GRAND TOTAL = $122


Hope you all enjoyed this post as much as the others even though it's not the normal, but I just had to address it because it's something I'm always thinking about. I'll be sharing a few other posts throughout the week, one from each category, in order to provide everyone with a little extra inspiration. Check out my Instagram or stop by later!!!!


ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page