top of page

HOME EXTERIOR COLOR TRENDS

Since I deal with color pretty much all day every day, I thought it would be beneficial to put together some of the most notable exterior color trends I've started to come across. From adding a fun pop of color on the front door to even going darker on the trim this post will explain and show visuals of different ways and color schemes people are painting their houses.

The swatches and schemes used are all related to the colors Dunn Edwards offers...simply because that's where I work and I know their colors very well. All of the images were found on google to support the five trends.

" Color is a moving target because it is contextual and defined by light" - Color Strategist: Lori Sawaya

THE AGE OF "GRAIGE"

One of the most popular trends (2nd place)...well at least in my opinion, because this is the type of color I get asked about very often during my color consultations at work, next to grays which is the last trend featured in this post. A "graige" is a color blend of beige and grey, which can range from light to dark in tone as well as either hold more beige or grey in color. More often than not the "graige" is paired with a soft white or a darker "graige" tone to add a more prominent contrast on the exterior. Below are a few color schemes I have put together on my own time using some Dunn Edwards colors that incorporate this "graige" trend.

These color schemes offer the homeowner a neutral palette that is a little different than the traditional browns and tans that are often used. If you're looking for a fresh new color scheme that will add some modern flare to your exterior then this "graige" trend is just for you!

Next on my color trend list...selecting unique front door colors that stand out! This trend has become more and more popular just since I've started my job as a Color Advisor, which hasn't been long at all and is why I'm including it on my list of home exterior color trends.


FUN WITH DOORS

Now, you might be shocked when I say this, but in the case of this trend forget any theories or rules you've learned when it comes to selecting color (after all, rules are meant to be broken right...?). The front door is an area where you are free to think outside the box and reflect your own personality and style. Many homeowners are starting to choose colors like bright yellows, deep blues, and vibrant pinks. Along with some spectacular front door pictures, I have also put together a list of some Dunn Edwards colors I think would be perfect for the front door.

Each of the colors selected adds an element of surprise and of course some fun! In most cases where the door is painted a vibrant color, the remaining house colors are neutral and not overpowering. It is important to note you do not want your colors competing with each other...select varying shades of light and dark tones within the schemes in order to help eliminate that problem.


THE DARK SIDE OF TRIM

Trim is an essential part of a house exterior as it breaks up the otherwise solid body colors, which is actually starting to change as more and more houses are popping up in dramatic monochromatic schemes (I think I shall do a separate post about this color scheme style in the future). However, in the past most trim has been painted in some form of a white or off-white color. Occasionally darker color trims have been used, but this trend is continuously growing - also being utilized in interior spaces - and bringing darker and bolder color selections into the forefront of the design.


Depending on the style of house you have or dream of having, this may not be the trend for you, but there are select houses that can pull off having a dark or even bold colored trim. Browse through these photos to see how you can incorporate a reinvented exterior trim style.


LIGHT & AIRY

Just in case a bold trim color isn't the look for you, this next trend might be one you can get on board with because it works with almost all exterior home styles. Light, bright, and airy...usually done in whites, off-whites, soft pastels, and subtle pops of color. This look definitely SCREAMS gorgeous magazine home and also adds this idea of versatility. These next photos showcase the dreamy and whimsical nature of this trend.


50 SHADES OF GRAY

Literally...the trend of trends...


Gray is by far the most widely used color and it is being painted in both interior and exterior projects. Also, gray is definitely the color I get asked about most frequently at work. There's something...dare I say magical...about the color that is intriguing to people; gray is a chameleon color because it takes on several characteristics in varying circumstances. Not to mention there are endless shades, hues, and variations of gray.


A gray can be neutral, modern, soft, welcoming and then depending on style it can even be dramatic, unexpected, or traditional. There are also countless undertones from gray to gray, which causes it to take on a subtle hue of color or be warm/cool in tone. Below are some popular gray exterior colors I've come across during my time as a Professional Color Advisor.

As you may notice, there are several directions a homeowner can go when selecting a gray color scheme. From modern to contemporary to historic, gray can be used on virtually any style of home. Scroll through these images of inspiring gray exterior schemes.

Without a doubt being a Color Advisor has been one of the coolest jobs I've been privileged to have so far. Between helping guide people to selecting colors for their home, working on renderings, talking to contractors and our paint tint team, as well as receiving that "OMG Thank you soo much for your advice...the colors turned out AMAZING!!!! I love it!"...I mean I can't even explain how rewarding those moments are, but it has caused me to learn so much about not only color, but people as well and how they relate to color in everyday situations.

Finally, here is a picture of one of my favorite home exterior color schemes...there is just something about the all-over navy that gives me the heebee geebees..............in such an unbelievable way!!!! It is haunting, alluring, mysterious, yet stunning and inviting. Just pure awesomeness...haha...I am completely drawn to this exterior home and color!

I really hope you all enjoyed this post and maybe even learned something interesting. Do you have a favorite exterior trend or one you might like to try after reading this post? Leave a comment and let me know!

ESCAPE THE ORDINARY!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page